Latest News

Publish date: May 20, 2011

Cornell College returns to Midwest Conference

Cornell College, a charter member of the Midwest Conference, will return to the league in the 2012-13 academic year after participating in the Iowa Intercollegiate Athletic Conference for the past 14 years.

As a founding member of the Midwest Collegiate Athletic Conference in 1921, Cornell College claimed the first league championship at a track meet May 13, 1921, and proceeded to collect 66 more titles up to the spring of 1997.

Cornell College, which joined the IIAC with Coe College after the 1996-97 academic year, is a private four-year liberal arts college founded in 1853. The Division III school offers varsity programs in 19 sports (10 men, nine women).

The Midwest Conference is composed of 10 private, liberal arts colleges and universities in Illinois, Iowa and Wisconsin: Beloit College, Carroll University, Grinnell College, Illinois College, Knox College, Lake Forest College, Lawrence University, Monmouth College (Illinois), Ripon College and St. Norbert College.