Latest News

Publish date: Jan 17, 2012

The Record

Austin Homan

East Carolina named Austin Homan director of baseball operations. Homan completed his playing career with the Pirates in 2011 after earning four letters. He replaces Brian Cavanaugh, who resigned to take a teaching position with the university.

Other transactions

Athletics directors – Former Oregon State executive associate athletics director Todd Stansbury is Central Florida’s new vice president and director of athletics. Stansbury also has experience at East Tennessee State (as director of athletics), Houston and Georgia Tech.


Women’s basketball – Bucknell head women’s basketball coach Kathy Fedorjaka announced her resignation. Assistant coach Bill Broderick takes over on an interim basis.

Field hockey – Longtime Old Dominion head field hockey coach Beth Anders will return for one more season after previously announcing her retirement … Rutgers elevated Meredith Long to head field hockey coach. Long was an assistant the past two seasons with the Scarlet Knights.

Football – Carleton chose Steve Sumarah to lead its football program as head coach as it returns to action after a 15-year absence beginning with the 2013 season … Central Oklahoma hired Nick Bobeck as its head football coach … Notre Dame extended the contract of head football coach Brian Kelly by two years, keeping him at the institution through 2016. Kelly recently completed his second season at the helm … Wyoming and head football coach Dave Christensen agreed to a new five-year contract through 2016 … Yale named Tony Reno head football coach. Reno was an assistant coach at Harvard the last three seasons and has also been an assistant at Yale in the past.

Football assistants – Akron named Alan Arrington offensive line coach, Jeff Bowden special teams coordinator/outside receivers coach, Trent Boykin running backs coach, A.J. Milwee quarterbacks coach, John Pont recruiting coordinator/inside receivers coach, Todd Stroud defensive line coach, Mike Woodford safeties coach, Ben Murphy director of operations and John Grieco strength and conditioning coach … Arizona chose Jeff Casteel as its new defensive coordinator … Arkansas announced the resignations of linebackers coach Reggie Johnson and graduate assistant coaches Richard Owens and Brandon Sharpe to take coaching positions at UAB. Former Ohio State assistant Taver Johnson was hired to take over the linebackers role … Brian VanGorder, defensive coordinator for the Atlanta Falcons the past four seasons, is Auburn’s new defensive coordinator … Boise State promoted Robert Prince to offensive coordinator. Prince was the team’s wide receivers coach and passing game coordinator in 2011 … Clemson defensive coordinator Kevin Steele will not return for the 2012 season. Steele held the role since 2009 … East Carolina added Kirk Doll and Pat Washington to its football coaching staff as assistants. Doll will be the running backs coach and special teams coordinator while Washington will be the outside receivers coach and run game coordinator … Florida hired Brent Pease as its offensive coordinator. Pease previously held the same role at Boise State … Hawaii’s new defensive coordinator is Thom Kaumeyer, former assistant defensive backs coach of the Jacksonville Jaguars …Houston tabbed Ricky Logo as an assistant football coach who will focus on the defensive line. Logo was formerly co-defensive coordinator at Troy and defensive line coach at Vanderbilt … Kansas named Clint Bowen special teams coordinator and Jeff Blasko assistant special teams coordinator and tight ends coach. Additionally, Josh Eidson and Juney Barnett were added as assistant strength and conditioning coaches while Dave Campo is the defensive coordinator and defensive backs coach … North Carolina State promoted Jon Tenuta from linebackers coach to associate head coach for defense … Oklahoma defensive backs coach Willie Martinez resigned to pursue another position with former Arizona head coach Mike Stoops coming aboard as co-defensive coordinator … Penn State named Stan Hixon assistant head coach/wide receivers coach, Larry Johnson defensive line coach, Charles London running backs coach, Mac McWhorter offensive line coach, John Strollo tight ends coach and Ron Vanderlinden linebackers coach. Also, Ted Roof and John Butler round out the defensive staff as defensive coordinator and secondary coach, respectively … Jason Phillips will join the SMU coaching staff as an assistant coach. Phillips coached the last nine years at Houston … Tennessee named Sal Sunseri defensive coordinator. Sunseri coached at Alabama the last three years … Texas A&M chose Kliff Kingsbury as its offensive coordinator and Mark Snyder as defensive coordinator … Texas Tech tabbed Art Kaufman as its defensive coordinator. Kaufman, a 28-year coaching veteran, was most recently at North Carolina … Washington State appointed Mike Breske defensive coordinator, Jeff Choate linebackers coach, Jim Mastro running backs coach, Joe Salave'a defensive line coach and Paul Volero outside linebackers coach … Kevin Corless is Western Illinois’ new defensive coordinator. Corless worked the past nine years at Arkansas State … Wisconsin hired Zach Azzanni as wide receivers coach. Azzanni was Western Kentucky’s offensive coordinator and wide receivers coach last year.

Men’s and women’s soccer – Texas A&M-Corpus Christi named Shanna Caldwell the head coach of its new women’s soccer program. Caldwell and her squad will begin play in the fall of 2013 … UMBC tabbed Leslie Wray as its head women’s soccer coach. Wray was the head coach at Towson from 1999-2006 and is returning to coaching after staying at home with her children.

Men’s and women’s soccer assistants – Manhattan hired Kara Bucci as an assistant women’s soccer coach. Bucci was a defender for the Jaspers.

Men’s and women’s tennis – Juniata named Jason Cohen head men’s and women’s tennis coach. Cohen was the head coach at Stevenson since 2007.

Men’s and women’s volleyball – Youngstown State chose Mark Hardaway to lead its women’s volleyball program as head coach. Hardaway was most recently an assistant at Bowling Green.


The American Football Coaches Association named Harvard coach Tim Murphy president. Additionally, Northwestern coach Pat Fitzgerald, North Dakota State coach Craig Bohl, Southeast Missouri State coach Tony Samuel and California (Pennsylvania) coach John Luckhardt were elected to the board of trustees.

Send announcements – including hirings, contract extensions, retirements, milestones and deaths – to