South Florida President Judy Genshaft will chair the DI Board through April 2012.

Latest News

Publish date: Aug 17, 2010

South Florida President Genshaft to chair DI Board

By Michelle Brutlag Hosick

The Division I Board of Directors recently elected South Florida President Judy Genshaft to chair the Board through April 2012.

Genshaft, a Board member since 2009, represents the Big East Conference.

She was named president at South Florida in 2000. She served as provost and vice president for academic affairs at Albany and spent 16 years in various positions at Ohio State. She holds degrees in social work, psychology and counseling from Wisconsin and Kent State.

Genshaft’s term on the Board runs through April 2013.

Genshaft will lead a Board filled with new members, some due to term expirations and some due to job changes for previous members. Conference realignments also led two presidents to vacate their positions on the Board (Bob Kustra at Boise State and Harvey Perlman at Nebraska). The new Board members include:

Nathan Hatch, Wake Forest, representing the Atlantic Coast Conference. Hatch became president at Wake Forest in 2005. He spent many years as a professor and administrator at Notre Dame. He holds degrees from Wheaton (Illinois) and Washington in St. Louis.

Lee Todd, Kentucky, representing the Southeastern Conference. Todd was named president of Kentucky in 2001. He was a professor and administrator at Kentucky for nearly 30 years before becoming president. He holds degrees from Kentucky and MIT.

Sidney McPhee, Middle Tennessee, representing the Sun Belt Conference. McPhee rejoins the Board just three years after leaving it due to a job change for former Louisiana-Monroe President James Cofer. McPhee will complete Cofer’s term through 2013. He became president at Middle Tennessee in 2001, before which he was executive vice chancellor at the Tennessee Board of Regents. He also served in administration and teaching posts at Oklahoma State, Louisville and Memphis.

Guy Bailey, Texas Tech, representing the Big 12 Conference. Bailey became Texas Tech’s president in 2008. He was chancellor at UMKC before coming to Lubbock. He also held positions at Texas-San Antonio, UNLV, Memphis, Oklahoma State, Texas A&M and Emory. He holds degrees from Alabama and Tennessee.

Lou Anna Simon, Michigan State, representing the Big Ten Conference. Michigan State promoted Simon to president in 2005, after serving 11 years as provost. She has spent her entire career at Michigan State, joining the faculty after earning her doctorate from the school in 1974.

Stan Albrecht, Utah State, representing the Western Athletic Conference. Albrecht was promoted from provost to president in 2005. He also served as an administrator and professor at Florida, and held positions at Brigham Young. He holds degrees from Brigham Young and Washington State.

Steadman Upham, Tulsa, representing Conference USA. Steadman became president at Tulsa in 2004, after serving as CEO at Claremont Graduate University. He also held positions at New Mexico State and Oregon State. He earned degrees from Arizona State and Redlands.

All terms expire in April 2014, with the exception of McPhee’s, which ends in 2013.